Skip to main content


The East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO) is a semi-autonomous institution of the East African Community (EAC). EASTECO is mandated to promote and coordinate the development, management and application of Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) in the Partner States. The Mission of the commission is to promote and coordinate the development, management and application of science and technology to support regional integration and socio-economic development. One of the departments of EASTECO is the Department of Scientific Research and Development (SRD). To effectively manage projects and programs under the Department of SRD, EASTECO has established the EAC Research and Development Working Group (RDWG) as envisaged in the EAC Regional R&D Management Framework. The R&D Advisory Committee (RDAC) is the Executive Committee of the RDWG. RDAC is composed of members of three Sub-Committees, including Research Grants Sub-Committee; Research Communication Sub-Committee; and Resource Mobilization and Planning Sub-Committee. The R&D Management Framework provides that 12 members of each Sub-Committee shall be conscripted competitively through an open call for applications. EASTECO therefore calls for applications from interested researchers from the academia, research institutions, industry, the private sector and the public to submit applications for consideration. The application should include a one-page motivational cover letter, a detailed CV, a copy of the highest Academic Certificate, and copies of relevant testimonials. Please indicate the Sub-Committee you are applying to join.

Download details here.


Social Media Share